Children of Ragnarok banner

Children of Ragnarok cover

The first of two novels in The Runestone Saga series
From Balzer & Bray
Coming Nov 8, 2022.

About Children of Ragnarok

Ever since Ragnarok—the great war between the gods and the forces of chaos--the human realm of the Midlands has become a dangerous place, bereft of magic, where most lead lives of desperation.

Sixteen-year-old Eiric Halvorsen is among the luckier ones. Between fishing, going vikingr, and working his modir’s farm, the family has remained prosperous.  But Eiric stands to lose everything when he’s convicted by a rigged jury of murdering his modir and stepfadir. Also at risk is his half-systir, Liv, whose interest in seidr, or magic, has made her a figure of suspicion. Then a powerful jarl steps in: he will pay the blood price if Eiric will lead a mission to the fabled

Spellsinger, musician, and runecaster Reginn Eiklund travels from town to town, performing in alehalls and longhouses. All of her earnings go to her master, the fire demon Asger Eldr. Reginn is desperate to get free of him, but Asger murders anyone who befriends her. Then one night, two wyrdspinners from the Temple in the Grove sit in on her performance. They invite her to return with them to the temple to be trained in seidr. Best of all, they assure her that she will be out of Asger’s reach.

Eiric, Liv, and Reginn’s journeys converge in New Jotunheim, the site of the Temple at the Grove, a paradise fueled by magic. They soon realize that a great evil lurks beneath the dazzling surface, and that old betrayals and long-held grudges may fuel another cataclysmic war. It will require every gift and weapon at their command to prevent it.

Sweeping adventure, breathtaking twists of fate, and immersive worlds based in Norse mythology are woven into this first volume of the Runestone Saga, a duology from the New York Times bestselling author of the Seven Realms and Shattered Realms series.

Children of Ragnarok cover

Preorder signed copies from Malaprops Bookstore
Preorder from