Cinda Williams Chima

Photo of Cinda

Cinda Williams Chima, YA Fantasy Author

Q: How do you pronounce your name?


New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cinda Williams Chima nearly failed first grade because she was always daydreaming. By junior high, she got in trouble for writing novels in class. Yet the magic of books took her from first grade failure to first generation college graduate to college professor to bestselling author.  

Her Heir Chronicles young adult contemporary fantasy series includes The Warrior HeirThe Wizard HeirThe Dragon HeirThe Enchanter Heir and The Sorcerer Heir all from Hyperion. 

Chima’s young adult high fantasy Seven Realms series (Hyperion) include The Demon King (2009), The Exiled Queen (2010) The Gray Wolf Throne (2011) and The Crimson Crown 2012.) The Shattered Realms (HarperTeen,) follows a new generation in the world of the Seven Realms, and includes FlamecasterShadowcaster, Stormcaster, and Deathcaster

 Her newest series, The Runestone Saga, launched in November, 2022 with Children of Ragnarok, and concludes with Bane of Asgard, coming Oct. 22, 2024. Set in the Midlands after Ragnarok, the series marries Norse mythology and witchcraft with swordplay, axeplay, longships, romance and cut-throat politics.

Chima’s books have received starred reviews in Kirkus and VOYA, among others. They have been named Booksense and Indie Next picks, an International Reading Association Young Adult Choice, a New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age, to the Kirkus Best YA lists, and the VOYA Editors’ Choice, Best Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror, and Perfect Tens lists. They appear on numerous state reading lists and have won the South Carolina and Ohio Teen Book Awards. Translation rights have been sold in numerous countries overseas.

Cinda lives in North Carolina with her husband and dog Loki, who would rather play catch than read.

Loki thr Labradoodle with two balls.


Subscribe to her blog/newsletter for occasional news about books and events at